How to Embrace Your Insecurities

Your insecurities are actually your superpower.

Abby Peeler
2 min readSep 12, 2020
Photo by Anastase Maragos on Unsplash

I am constantly drowning in my own insecurities.

I am not skinny enough. I am terrible at writing. I don’t have enough friends. I am not social enough. My hobbies are weird. Blah, blah, blah.

What if I told you that all of these insecurities are my secret strength?

So, I’m not the skinniest girl. But, I am enough. My body works hard for me. My body is my superpower. It may not be perfect, but it does the job. What more could I want?

And maybe I am terrible at writing. But, I love it. So, I try to write every single day, hoping that I improve a bit with each piece I do.

So I don’t have a million friends. I am an extreme introvert, I don’t want to be social all the time. I don’t want to share my life with a bunch of people. That is simply not who I am. If I were to change this side of myself, I wouldn’t be where I am today.

My insecurities push me. They push me to be more positive. They push me to try harder. They push me to love myself more.

I accept myself as I am. I embrace these insecurities. I know that without them, I would be drastically different. My life would be completely changed. Acceptance helps me to improve my life, one step at a time.

I don’t need to be the picture of perfection to have a good life. In fact, my imperfections make my life way more interesting.

--

--

Abby Peeler

traveler, writer, human being. this is where i write all my thoughts—the good, the bad, and the ugly.