Stop Feeling Powerless

The key to completely changing your life.

Abby Peeler
2 min readAug 22, 2020
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

Since I was young, I have been an extrovert wrapped in an introvert’s shell. For me, it is difficult to reach out to others and meet new people. I fear rejection, mockery, and the unknown. I feel powerless against my own mind. Does this sound familiar to you?

If it did, chances are, you bend to the will of your own fears. It makes you unable to go out and complete your goals. It can feel suffocating. I know that my own insecurities can stop me from leaving my room. While I know my mind is wrong, I still make excuses that end up giving my fears the power. So how do I stop feeling this loss?

I write a list. I always write a to-do list that covers every. single. thing that I have to do for a day. While some of these goals are easily done by my introverted self, some challenge me to get outside of my head. These can be activities like exploring campus or just leaving my room to get food. When you are used to environments when you can depend on others for a feeling of safety, it is important to show yourself that you are capable of doing things by yourself.

Reminding myself that my mind is my only true blockade, I can use that same hindrance to allow myself to just get out of my own headspace. A lot of our insecurities rest within our own heads. Most people won’t see them upon first glance, or maybe even ever. Our insecurities are our excuses for not getting out of our comfort zones. So, stop feeling like you have to feel this way. Your insecurities are not impossible to overcome.

You’ve got this… (and hopefully I do too).

--

--

Abby Peeler

traveler, writer, human being. this is where i write all my thoughts—the good, the bad, and the ugly.