Why I’m Angry

Abby Peeler
2 min readMay 13, 2020

--

I find it hard to believe that my life has changed in a matter of weeks. In early March, I had just turned eighteen. I was bright eyed, bushy tailed, and completely ready to take on the world. Now, it is May and I am fearful and frustrated. On this day, May 12th, I was supposed to be practicing for graduation. Instead, I am slowly finishing virtual finals before declaring this to be the end to my high school experience. And I’m angry.

I’m angry that it took me so long to cherish youth. Everyday, I get the privilege of waking up to the sun- even if it is playing hide and seek behind the clouds. Every single day, I am given the opportunity to care for the people around me. I am surrounded by beautiful places, beautiful people, and beautiful experiences. Yet, it took a drastic change for me to open my eyes.

Life is this awe-worthy gift. But, I was born in a generation where I have learned to take advantage of all of the fruits of this world. Raised with a screen as my babysitter, I felt like technology was the new frontier to explore. I was so wrong. This vast world that we are surrounded by has millions of new whereabouts to navigate. It has even more faces to learn, more people to converse with, and an abyss of cultures to appreciate.

I am angry. Not at the Coronavirus but at the lack of our humanity. Our lack of empathy. In a time where we can order our woes away, how is it so hard to gather our own compassion. I am angry that it took me so long to understand the marvels that hide beyond technology. But, I won’t be angry for much longer. . . will you?

--

--

Abby Peeler

traveler, writer, human being. this is where i write all my thoughts—the good, the bad, and the ugly.